Seeds of War results
loki at bu.edu
Tue Aug 28 11:30:48 EDT 2001
On Tue, 28 Aug 2001, Donald Hanauer, II wrote:
> As for getting 'decent cards', where you see crap, I see potential.
> Shaitung goes in my honor decks for three reasons. 1) She's got 2 personal
> honor. 2) I run a few spells and kihos in my deck for Chosai to use, and
> her ability can be useful in saving me the game. 3) Sure, she's 7, but
> she's still a 3/3 for -. She also goes into my Military decks because she
> is a 3/3 with -.
Shaitung....'-' HR...mmm...Baby likes Corrupt Military. <G>
> Vedau is a personality that goes in my Military decks. I don't use his
> ability often, but it has helped in taking provinces whenother units are
> sent home. Sure, not drawing a card is /bad/, but I feel it's worth the
> sacrifice if it helps you achieve victory sooner.
Plus, he's a Samurai, so he loves Hiruma'y goodness. :)
> Soul of Juppun (whos name escapes me now) has gone into my honor decks, as
> he is a 5/3 for 8 and has 2 honor. However, he left only because I'm still
> uncertain on what is considered an action that gives a force bonus. I'm
> still convinced Dragon Tattoo is the turn it is used, but I may be wrong.
> Also, I didn't have 3 of most of the GL personalities yet so I needed
> someone to get me to 18. Once I finally figure out his restriction, he may
> go back in.
Dragon Tattoo is NEVER a force bonus from an action. The action creates
tokens. The action does not create force. The tokens provide force.
This is official word from the Rules Junta. Just so you can decide with
full info if you want him or not. :)
An action that gives a force bonus is any action, be it reaction, battle
open, or whatever, which DIRECTLY increases a personality's force.
Creating tokens, attaching weapons, etc, do not DIRECTLY increase the
force. They merely add cards/tokens to a unit which increase the force of
the personality. But it is the Token/Item providing a bonus, so it's
> As for A Perfect Cut: Iroshi has potential. He may only be a 1/2, but he is
> Tattooed. After having read and reread his ability several times, unless
> the Rules Junta declares otherwise, if you don't discard a card to put one
> in your hand, you put the 5 cards back. That's better than Wisdom the Wind
> Brings, as it's restricted by your Chi. And if you're playing three of him
> and a lot of Tattoos, you can get those cards you put on the bottom back
> quickly - deck cycling! So far, L5R is the only game were deck
> cycling/manipulation isn't game breaking. But that could change. ;)
One thing I was thinking is that if you can get a few of him out you can
completely re-arrange the order of your deck. After you've gone through
your entire deck once with him, you know the order of every card. Sounds
like a lot, but considering you're drawing cards and he allows you to
rearrange 5 at a time per Iroshi, not that absurd.
And Chieko is just crunchy beautiful goodness. :)
Mirumoto Hakanin * Dragon Clan Schemer
Student to All
More information about the Dragon